Make your own free website on

Lake Tahoe Windjammers YC


The Lake Tahoe Windjammers Yacht club, first established in 1968 as the SOUTH TAHOE SAILING CLUB. Gary Chase was named Commodore. It was than formally incorporated as the the WINDJAMMERS YACHT CLUB in 1974. The Officers of the club that signed the corporation papers were:  Pete Carrau Commodore, Dick Beck Vice Commodore, Dave Deutch Rear Commodore, Art Smith Treasurer, and Marion Smith Secretary. Jim Hildinger paid his dues as member # 1.

In 1997 the club changed itís name to LAKE TAHOE WINDJAMMERS YACHT CLUB and the corporate status to a Nonprofit Public Corporation and is operated exclusively for charitable purposes within the meaning of the internal Revenue Code Section 501 9 c) ( 3). The Windjammers YC is a member in good standing of the USSAIL and the San Francisco Yacht Racing association (YRA).

The primary purpose of the WYC was, as it is today, is the promotion of sailing, sailboat racing and sailing instruction on the South Shore of Lake Tahoe. The club has an active racing and cruising fleet and a well-rounded junior training program.

The club sailing activities on the lake usually begin in May and end in October. The first meeting of the year is usually held in March.

The WYC racing calendar offers a wide variety of around the buoy and point-to-point races as well as the traditional Wednesday night beer can races. The highlight of the racing calendar is the 26-mile long "SOUTHERN CROSSING" race usually held around the end of June. The course takes the participants back and forth the Southern portion of the lake, in the shadow of the snow covered 10,000-foot Mount Tallac. The cruising fleet calendar usually offers at least one club cruise per month to popular destinations and coves on the lake. During the summer months the clubís 26 ft sailboat "Wings", is used to train kids in boat handling and racing.

WYC holds membership meetings throughout the year. The WYC monthly newsletter "LAYLINE" is published the year around.

 WYC Web site: /index.html

Updated information of club activities can be obtained from the WYC information line at 530 542 1550.

Membership application


Front left: Lynn Wright, Debbie Noorda, Julie Parker, Michelle Langlois

Rear: Left: Don Newman, Ray Wilson, Kurt Rasmussen

Commodore                  Debbie Noorda (530) 541 3516

Vice Commodore          Ray Wilson

Rear Commodore         Kurt Rasmussen  (530) 541 1129

Race Committee           Kurt Rasmussen

Secretary                       Julie Parker         (530) 577 3250

Treasurer                       Michelle Langlois

Past Commodore          Lynn Wright

Member at Large          Don Newman



Cruising Fleet Captain    Pam & Michael Adamson  530 542 0233


Membership                     Howard Stevens   775 972 5487


Publicity                            Steve Lannen  530 577 7613


Junior Program                 Diane Martin 530 577 7613

"Layline" Publisher           Don Newman    ltwyc2&

Web Master                         Vic Beelik


Back to Site Navigation